Could you try something for me please?
On the frontend before you press connect, type .tcptest. You should get a confirmation in red.
This activates a different system for retrieving these files from the server. gk did a test of this on earlier code and it didn't solve the problem.. i've fixed a couple of bugs since then but don't expect it to be fully working yet.
It would be very useful to me to finish off that system if I could see what results different people get under different network conditions.
If you can, please try logging in with it a couple of times at least and note any differences in behaviour.
cheers
mit
If you're having problems downloading scores or cutscenes..
- MasterNiCron
- Posts: 582
- Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:57 pm
- Location: Frost
Yep same result here. 0k of 10k, forever until it errors out.
I'm thinking a niftier system would be a cloud based system. Where the client runs a separate executable before it launches, similar to the AutoUpdate feature. For example CloudSync.exe reads an output file Master.xml which is a composite cloud of all the other planet's Genesis.xml, Zoric.xml maintained by the each Planet server:
<Sync>
<Genesis>
<Data>
<Data/Models/Buildings>
<build01.atm> FOUND
<build01.bmp> FOUND
<build02.atm> FOUND
<build02.bmp> NOT FOUND
<Data/Textures/Land>
<grass01.jpg> NOT FOUND
<grass02.jpg> NOT FOUND
</Data>
</Genesis>
<Zoric>
<Data>
<Data/Models/Buildings>
<build04.atm> FOUND
<build04.bmp> FOUND
<build05.atm> FOUND
<build05.bmp> FOUND
<Data/Textures/Land>
<grass23.jpg> NOT FOUND
<grass23.jpg> NOT FOUND
</Data>
</Zoric>
</Sync>
"You're client seems to not be synced with some Planet's, would you like to sync now?"
I know this should prob be in the Feature's Request, and well really I don't see it solving real time data issues like scores and what not.
-Malk
I'm thinking a niftier system would be a cloud based system. Where the client runs a separate executable before it launches, similar to the AutoUpdate feature. For example CloudSync.exe reads an output file Master.xml which is a composite cloud of all the other planet's Genesis.xml, Zoric.xml maintained by the each Planet server:
<Sync>
<Genesis>
<Data>
<Data/Models/Buildings>
<build01.atm> FOUND
<build01.bmp> FOUND
<build02.atm> FOUND
<build02.bmp> NOT FOUND
<Data/Textures/Land>
<grass01.jpg> NOT FOUND
<grass02.jpg> NOT FOUND
</Data>
</Genesis>
<Zoric>
<Data>
<Data/Models/Buildings>
<build04.atm> FOUND
<build04.bmp> FOUND
<build05.atm> FOUND
<build05.bmp> FOUND
<Data/Textures/Land>
<grass23.jpg> NOT FOUND
<grass23.jpg> NOT FOUND
</Data>
</Zoric>
</Sync>
"You're client seems to not be synced with some Planet's, would you like to sync now?"
I know this should prob be in the Feature's Request, and well really I don't see it solving real time data issues like scores and what not.
-Malk
if something that is put in, there's would *have* to be a way to choose what planet(s) to sync with, else a new player could end up having their client trying to download every model and texture from every planet at once. it could easily be over a dozen planets and 100mb+ of stuff depending on the texture quality
- morbydvisns
- Posts: 1889
- Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:51 am
- morbydvisns
- Posts: 1889
- Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:51 am