Sprites

Forum Archive - from http://theuniversal.net
Locked
User avatar
Magicfinger
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1078
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38 am
Location: here,there and everywhere

Sprites

Post by Magicfinger »

ok first of all exscuse me if i am having a mad moment.....

Splitting sprites

correct me if i am wrong

0 | 1
-----
2 | 3 =0.5f

0 | 1 | 2 | 3
-------------
4 | 5 | 6 | 7
-------------
8 | 9 |10|11
-------------
12|13|14|15 =0.25f

so.....

and 8 X 8 Grid would be 0.125f

and a 16 X 16 Grid would be 0.0625f

so why does it crash when using 16x16 grid ????? am i trying to split to far ? is their a minimum float value here?


P.s let me know if below is relevant :D
Image
User avatar
Mattizme
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:23 pm
Location: At work/school/home
Contact:

Post by Mattizme »

I think I can remember having some kind of problem like this myself. Your shapes are right though. Is it just a straight crash, or do you get a message?

Jusrt as an experiment, could you do this with InterfaceTexturedRect? Worth a try.
User avatar
Magicfinger
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1078
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38 am
Location: here,there and everywhere

Post by Magicfinger »

nope this is a straight crash to desktop works on a 8x8 grid just not on a 16x16
User avatar
Mattizme
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:23 pm
Location: At work/school/home
Contact:

Post by Mattizme »

This may seema lil obvious, but have you put the f on then end? :)
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Post by Mit »

um,yeh.. have ya? :] Jus had a quick look at the code nd cant see anythin obviously wrong that would cause that... I'll build a lil test lata jus to confirm, but can ya jus triplecheck your params, make sure they're in the right places etc?
User avatar
Magicfinger
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1078
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38 am
Location: here,there and everywhere

Post by Magicfinger »

:oops: :oops: ok fixed this now :oops: :oops: {WHIStles.....}
User avatar
Mattizme
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:23 pm
Location: At work/school/home
Contact:

Post by Mattizme »

Want to share with us what went wrong, or shall we forget about it? :)

Just one thing, Mit... do you think that we could have a function to quit back to the arcade menu, if we don't already? be nicer to go back to that instead of all the way out.
User avatar
hedgehog
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 2:57 am
Location: ann arbor, michigan
Contact:

Post by hedgehog »

ps: magic that graphic is relevant to just about every IM and phone conversation i've had in my lifetime :)
User avatar
Magicfinger
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1078
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:38 am
Location: here,there and everywhere

Post by Magicfinger »

yeh

Var 1=0
Var 2=0

var1xvar2=0 not 1 :)

just forgot to apply a value to a variable :oops:
Locked