Page 1 of 1

Coding on world

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:51 pm
by bijou666
im just wondering if there is any way i can code, my own world, by this i mean adding new features and updates on my world, without necesairly having an update to put it on the whole galaxy, just wondering :)

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:47 pm
by Magicfinger
the basic answer is no :)

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:14 pm
by bijou666
ok :)

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:59 pm
by Mit
Sometime ago I started work on a mini-scripting language that will allow you to do some basic logic within gamescript.mts file. The idea is to allow you to do stuff something like..

Code: Select all

if ( PlayerHasWealth > 5000 )
{
    GrantItem( "bonus item" );
}
or maybe

Code: Select all

if ( PlayerBuilds( "Special Building" ) )
{
    PrintMessage( "[PLAYER_NAME] has made the special building");
    AddKudos( 1 );
}
Theres quite a bit of work involved in it tho.. unfortunately i wouldnt expect it this year :(

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:16 pm
by bijou666
er... somehow i've edited and deleted whatever it was you wrote here, bijou. D'oh. Sorry...


fooli

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:37 pm
by zaroba
you'd probably also have to have every player that visits the world update thier client to work with the stock system. which could rendure them useless on other worlds.

then when the real updates happen, you'd have to reupdate the world and clients yet again :P

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:28 am
by djaj88
set players names as a Varible that can be filled in
So in the script
X
would represent the player names....the computer just fills in the players name into the X varible.