Page 1 of 1

Using webspace to store models & textures (0.1.41)

Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 5:57 pm
by Mit
Melikes this new bit :] Heres how it works..

Firstly, you need to specify the webserver that stores your models and textures in the new NamesFile.txt on the server. The format for this is, for example....

HTTPSERVER,0=gameislands.net/downloads

At that location, you need to create folders as laid out in the client (i.e. Data/Models/Bldgs etc). Upload your models there, then um.. thassit. :]
Whenever a client joins and detects the above line in your NamesFile.txt, it changes the download system to try to get files from the http server first.
In the above example, if you have a building called ABuilding.atm assigned, the client will try to download it from

http://gameislands.net/downloads/Data/M ... ilding.atm

There'll be a fallthru system added, such that if the client fails to download the model from the http server, it will then try to get it direct from your server.exe. I'll also make it possible to have a number of different http locations specified so that it can try to download from each location in turn until its got the model.

(Edit - i had said there was a downside in that it blocked and paused the game a bit, but i've done the multi-threaded bit now so its all sweeet :] )

Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:47 pm
by leigon
let me be the first to say "Thanks! :D".

So by multiple you would set it up like: ???
HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads

I thaught I would never say this about a game owner... but you REALY listen to the players/owners.... let me also be the first to say "we all love you" ;) :P

*check your donation's tomorow sometime you sould have $100 for another world :)*

Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 7:02 pm
by Fooli
Kewl, nice work Mit. Well, if it works anyway. And kudos to *o*y for feckin up your project to such an extent you actually have some time to work on this :p
f

Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 2:34 am
by zaroba
thats cool

i'm gonna start setting that up on my site now so when the patch comes out it'll be ready to use.

Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:44 pm
by Mit
heh, np, leig :) I have no objections to taking on suggestions and ideas from players/owners when those suggestions are good ones - in fact it jus saves me the bother of thinking of em myself :] - so thanks to you for bringing it up.
So by multiple you would set it up like: ???
HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads
Yeh.. thats all there now.. in the setup you give above, the game will try to download each model or texture from mirror1 first.. if it cant find it there it'll try mirror2, then 3, then if it still hasnt been able to get the file it'll try to get it from the server directly.
All seems to work very nicely :) .. and of course.. coz the downloads are now going thru http rather than the game's rather limited FT system, things download a whole load quicker than they used to. Even from gameislands.net textures were downloading to the client at 50k/s on my adsl connection at home.. Niiice :]

Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:03 pm
by Jemrada
Another thanks from me Mit on this. I am sure this is going to be a great thing for downloading the game contents. Keep up the good work. 8)

Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:57 pm
by zaroba
haveing multiple places will also allow people to have mirrors of thier models on tohers sites.
i.e. i'm uploading my whole model and texture collection to atractorguide. if anybody else wants to link to it, it'll be at http://www.atractorguide.com/downloads/data

Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:30 am
by leigon
why don't we have a staff thead for "requests" to have something hosted... should help out alot adding stuff to mirrors.

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 2:00 pm
by DeVice
Once Mit will have verified the new version works ok, you'll be able to use also ftp servers that allows anonymous logins.

Just add "ftp://" at the beginning of the url, for instance :
(this example is not functional :wink: )

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 6:59 pm
by DeVice
DeVice wrote:Once Mit will have verified the new version works ok
Correction should have said "Once my code is fixed so it works ok" :oops:

Which is done now, so next patch will have it ok.

Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:03 am
by leigon

Code: Select all

HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads 
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads 
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads
don't work...

when the worldexe is run it is croped to:

Code: Select all

*UPD=0
ITEMNAME,196=Antigrav 25%
ITEMNAME,197=Antigrav 50%
ITEMNAME,198=Antigrav 75%
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:42 pm
by leigon
does this still work? I can never tell

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:52 pm
by zaroba
try and see :P

set gyruss to use your website, then delete the models etc in your client so it tries to download them.

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:11 pm
by leigon
I did... can't tell the dif...

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:18 pm
by zaroba
can't tell if its downloading from the internet?

hmm...could try removing the files from the world itself so they can only be gotten from the internet. well, not really removing them but just changing the data dir for them.

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:05 pm
by leigon
Any chance you could add a debug inside the game mit?

When its downloading the files for example say weather its downloading from server or from the httpserver 0-2 etc.

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:49 pm
by Mit
it does say 'http download' rather than 'download' in the info box at the top right when its downloading from the web.
But yeh, I'll add an option for more detailed debug output for downloads.

Ya got out from behind the uni firewall then leig?

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:03 pm
by leigon
nope I am sending my pc home and Vlaning into it :P

Hay its the best thing I could think of without kicking my ISP's arse.

btw does the reverce jetpack work yet? :) I don't want gyruss users to float into space now do I :)

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:28 pm
by theseer
setting: extras 5 or 6
command: shift + del.