Auto-Texture Generator Bugs (maybe)

Forum Archive - from http://theuniversal.net
Locked
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Auto-Texture Generator Bugs (maybe)

Post by zaroba »

Software:Universal Client
Version Number:
________________________________________________________________________
Location

________________________________________________________________________
Description:
Textures in the namesfile:
AUTOGENTEXTURE,0=a-blue.bmp (not the transparent #255 blue)
AUTOGENTEXTURE,1=a-green.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,2=a-green.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,3=a-red.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,4=a-red.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,5=a-white.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,6=a-white.bmp
AUTOGENTEXTURE,7=a-yellow.bmp

The textures are just things I quickly made up in ms paint for the sake of testing each is a 24-bit bmp that is 111x127 and 41.7kb. All made exactly the same way. Just used flood fill then save so I am certain it isn't an image issue. Relogged my client between each change as well.


I know I've seen others useing auto texture generation stuff, so I know it has to work. Could it be breaking because of having to a landscape height scale of 500 to get the mountains on the 1024x1024 map?


Image

Auto-Texture Generation Mode=1
Auto-texture height level 1=200
Auto-texture height level 2=190
Auto-texture height level 3=180
Auto-texture height level 4=170
Auto-texture height level 5=0
Auto-texture height level 6=0
Auto-texture height level 7=0
Auto-texture height level 8=0

Should have:
blue on top of the mountain - over 200
blend from blue to green - 190-200
only green - 180-190 (green + green = green)
blend from green to red - 170-180
only red - under 170

The stuff for Auto-texture height level 1 isn't being recognised or displayed at all, not even as part of the calc for between heights 1 and 2. The game seems to be treating slot 2 as if it were slot 1 and green only is being used for everything higher then 200. If the blend from red to green is taking place in a narrow strip down in the vally between heights 170-180, then certainly the mountain I am sitting on is well over height 200 and should be a light blue color






Image

Auto-Texture Generation Mode=1
Auto-texture height level 1=200
Auto-texture height level 2=190
Auto-texture height level 3=180
Auto-texture height level 4=170
Auto-texture height level 5=160
Auto-texture height level 6=150
Auto-texture height level 7=140
Auto-texture height level 8=130

Things are far ven worse when trying to use all 8 height slots.
Same spot on the map. Only thing chaged was adding the 4 additional heights.
Now that red is up near the top of the mountain for some reason.

Should have:
over 200 - blue on top of the mountain (Texture #1)
190-200 - blend from blue to green (texture #1 + #2)
180-190 - only green (texture #2 + #3, both green)
170-180 - blend from green to red (texture #3 + #4)
160-170 - only red (texture #4 + #5, both red)
150-160 - blend from red to white - (texture #5 + #6)
140-150 - only white (texture #6 + #7, both white)
130-140 - blend from white to yellow (texture #7 + #8)
below 130 - only yellow (texture #8)




________________________________________________________________________
Steps to Replicate:
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

2nd picture is supposed to be:
Image
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

Image
User avatar
morbydvisns
Posts: 1889
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:51 am

Post by morbydvisns »

he changed the way those work.

I don't recall right off the top of my head but I've got it set on Ariya.
User avatar
morbydvisns
Posts: 1889
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:51 am

Post by morbydvisns »

Just use the top 4 texture slots in the server console

1 and 2 control the first texture
2 and 3 for the 2nd texture

etc

i believe it's the first number is the height it starts solid, and the 2nd number is when it starts to fade from the next texture down.
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Post by Mit »

aye, aye.. like morb said.

The new autoTextureGenMode 1 shader stuff uses the first 4 textures only atm. (The other 4 might get used to specify normal maps for each level).
The 8 height parameters are used to determine when those 4 textures fade in and out.

So something like..

Code: Select all

Auto-texture height level 1=200 
Auto-texture height level 2=190 
Auto-texture height level 3=180 
Auto-texture height level 4=170
is saying..
Texture 1 is fully visible from 200, to 190. Then it blends between tex 1 and tex 2 from 190 to 180. From 180 to 170 tex 2 is fully visible. etc.

am fiddling with this a bit atm to try to get some better results so I may add more settings or change behaviour again. (Hence why i haven't documented it properly yet)

Note also that to go along with this you've also got *settings -> Landscape -> Shader Tiling Scale which is used to determine.. well.. you know.. the tiling scale.. for the shader :). The 0 default value is equivalent to 1000.. smaller number tile the landscape sources less. That can need a relog to see the proper effect.
Locked