Starting buildings / name values

Forum Archive - from http://theuniversal.net
Locked
Breosa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:54 pm

Starting buildings / name values

Post by Breosa »

Hi,

When you start a new world, how do you get more than just Stonehenge? I've seen planets in the past with several starter buildings, school, grocery, etc...

Also when I added a Farm as building 8, with Build Farm as a skill in the settings, it seems to me in the game I need Swordfighting instead. Is this because the NameFiles only contains two Skill names even though the Building Editor contains a lot more names?

Just starting to piece this all together, slowly...

Thanks,
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

Skills and Items are only listed in the namesfile if they get renamed. Any skill or item #s not listed will use their default names.

ITEMNAME,##=new name
SKILLNAME,##=new name
the ## is the id number that the game uses for the skill or item.

Build Farm is skill #12.
Is there a line in the names file that says SKILLNAME,12=Swordfighting ?
If there is, delete the line, save the file, then type *reloadnames and relog.
The skill will be back to being named Build Farm.
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Post by Mit »

In most circumstances you don't need to edit the namesfile.txt directly (or use *reloadnames).

For skills you have

Code: Select all

*changeskillname [CurrentName],[NewName]
and for items

Code: Select all

*changeitemname [CurrentName],[NewName]
(With the intention being that soon enough you won't even need the commands and there'll be graphical interfaces in the world editor to let you edit the names in a list).

For adding new buildings you currently need to use the separate 'Buildings Editor' program and the *reloadbuildings command. (Assuming you're running the world locally - the 'cloud hosted' worlds currently don't let you modify the buildings list, except by choosing a different template). Again, the intention is that this all gets wrapped up in an in-game dialog in the world editor screen.
Locked