Using webspace to store models & textures (0.1.41)

Forum Archive - from http://theuniversal.net
Locked
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Using webspace to store models & textures (0.1.41)

Post by Mit »

Melikes this new bit :] Heres how it works..

Firstly, you need to specify the webserver that stores your models and textures in the new NamesFile.txt on the server. The format for this is, for example....

HTTPSERVER,0=gameislands.net/downloads

At that location, you need to create folders as laid out in the client (i.e. Data/Models/Bldgs etc). Upload your models there, then um.. thassit. :]
Whenever a client joins and detects the above line in your NamesFile.txt, it changes the download system to try to get files from the http server first.
In the above example, if you have a building called ABuilding.atm assigned, the client will try to download it from

http://gameislands.net/downloads/Data/M ... ilding.atm

There'll be a fallthru system added, such that if the client fails to download the model from the http server, it will then try to get it direct from your server.exe. I'll also make it possible to have a number of different http locations specified so that it can try to download from each location in turn until its got the model.

(Edit - i had said there was a downside in that it blocked and paused the game a bit, but i've done the multi-threaded bit now so its all sweeet :] )
Last edited by Mit on Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

let me be the first to say "Thanks! :D".

So by multiple you would set it up like: ???
HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads

I thaught I would never say this about a game owner... but you REALY listen to the players/owners.... let me also be the first to say "we all love you" ;) :P

*check your donation's tomorow sometime you sould have $100 for another world :)*
User avatar
Fooli
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 2:38 pm
Location: Mars

Post by Fooli »

Kewl, nice work Mit. Well, if it works anyway. And kudos to *o*y for feckin up your project to such an extent you actually have some time to work on this :p
f
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

thats cool

i'm gonna start setting that up on my site now so when the patch comes out it'll be ready to use.
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Post by Mit »

heh, np, leig :) I have no objections to taking on suggestions and ideas from players/owners when those suggestions are good ones - in fact it jus saves me the bother of thinking of em myself :] - so thanks to you for bringing it up.
So by multiple you would set it up like: ???
HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads
Yeh.. thats all there now.. in the setup you give above, the game will try to download each model or texture from mirror1 first.. if it cant find it there it'll try mirror2, then 3, then if it still hasnt been able to get the file it'll try to get it from the server directly.
All seems to work very nicely :) .. and of course.. coz the downloads are now going thru http rather than the game's rather limited FT system, things download a whole load quicker than they used to. Even from gameislands.net textures were downloading to the client at 50k/s on my adsl connection at home.. Niiice :]
User avatar
Jemrada
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:47 pm
Location: uhhh!
Contact:

Post by Jemrada »

Another thanks from me Mit on this. I am sure this is going to be a great thing for downloading the game contents. Keep up the good work. 8)
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

haveing multiple places will also allow people to have mirrors of thier models on tohers sites.
i.e. i'm uploading my whole model and texture collection to atractorguide. if anybody else wants to link to it, it'll be at http://www.atractorguide.com/downloads/data
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

why don't we have a staff thead for "requests" to have something hosted... should help out alot adding stuff to mirrors.
User avatar
DeVice
Staff
Staff
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:12 pm
Location: I wish i knew...
Contact:

Post by DeVice »

Once Mit will have verified the new version works ok, you'll be able to use also ftp servers that allows anonymous logins.

Just add "ftp://" at the beginning of the url, for instance :
(this example is not functional :wink: )
User avatar
DeVice
Staff
Staff
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:12 pm
Location: I wish i knew...
Contact:

Post by DeVice »

DeVice wrote:Once Mit will have verified the new version works ok
Correction should have said "Once my code is fixed so it works ok" :oops:

Which is done now, so next patch will have it ok.
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

Code: Select all

HTTPSERVER,0=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/downloads 
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror2.leigon.co.uk/downloads 
HTTPSERVER,2=mirror3.leigon.co.uk/downloads
don't work...

when the worldexe is run it is croped to:

Code: Select all

*UPD=0
ITEMNAME,196=Antigrav 25%
ITEMNAME,197=Antigrav 50%
ITEMNAME,198=Antigrav 75%
HTTPSERVER,1=mirror1.leigon.co.uk/
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

does this still work? I can never tell
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

try and see :P

set gyruss to use your website, then delete the models etc in your client so it tries to download them.
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

I did... can't tell the dif...
User avatar
zaroba
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: Hereford, PA
Contact:

Post by zaroba »

can't tell if its downloading from the internet?

hmm...could try removing the files from the world itself so they can only be gotten from the internet. well, not really removing them but just changing the data dir for them.
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

Any chance you could add a debug inside the game mit?

When its downloading the files for example say weather its downloading from server or from the httpserver 0-2 etc.
User avatar
Mit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3551
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Unknown

Post by Mit »

it does say 'http download' rather than 'download' in the info box at the top right when its downloading from the web.
But yeh, I'll add an option for more detailed debug output for downloads.

Ya got out from behind the uni firewall then leig?
User avatar
leigon
World Owner
World Owner
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: UK - Programming under the influance.

Post by leigon »

nope I am sending my pc home and Vlaning into it :P

Hay its the best thing I could think of without kicking my ISP's arse.

btw does the reverce jetpack work yet? :) I don't want gyruss users to float into space now do I :)
theseer
VIP
VIP
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:50 am

Post by theseer »

setting: extras 5 or 6
command: shift + del.
Locked